Manchester Metropolitan University

Specific Learning Difficulties

Courses are principally designed to enable classroom practitioners gain a high level of knowledge and skill so that they can expertly meet the needs of learners with specific learning difficulties (SpLDs).

Course modules

Typical units of study may include: Year 1: you will study 2 units: SpLD: nature, assessment and intervention; SpLD: intervention and the practice of teaching; successful completion of these units leads to BDA approved teacher status or approved practitioner status (for those without QTS). Year 2: you will study a further 2 units for the PgDIP; SpLD: support for learning: management of SpLD from early years to GCSE; SpLD: legal issues and consultancy; successful completion of these two units leads to the award of AMBDA. Year 3: successful completion of years 1 and 2 and a dissertation in year 3 leads to an MA specific learning difficulties.

Assessment methods

Written assignments and supervised teaching practice.


Qualification Study mode Start month Fee Course duration
MA Part-time September 2017 - 1 Years
Postgraduate Diploma - PgDip Part-time September 2017 - 1 Years

Campus details

Campus name Town Postcode Region Main campus Campus Partner
Main Site M15 6BH North West

Get in touch

Remember to mention TARGETpostgrad when contacting universities.

Key information

Course Enquiries
Telephone number: