Queen's University Belfast

Queen's University Belfast

Nursing (Specialist Practice in Nursing)

The postgraduate diploma will enable nurses to attain competency and expertise to provide care as specialist practitioners, as defined by the NMC (2001), and by virtue of their participation in more advanced professional and academic study, to develop their capabilities as leaders, innovators and clinical supervisors.

Entry requirements

Applicants must hold a first degree in nursing or a relevant subject. Applicants must also hold a current and recognised professional qualification in nursing and have a minimum of one year's post-registration experience specific to the area of specialist practice being undertaken. Applicants who do not meet the entry requirements should contact the School for advice.

Course modules

This postgraduate programme comprises six modules and a clinical component. Three core modules and three specialist specific modules with a clinical component that incorporates the clinical competencies required for a specialist practitioner (NMC,2001). The following specialist practice pathways are offered: anaesthetic nursing; oncology nursing; cardiology nursing; nursing care for older people; respiratory nursing; palliative care.

Assessment methods

Methods of assessment will include presentation or practical demonstration, written examination, written assessment and seminars.


Qualification Study mode Fee Course duration
PgDip Full-time - 1 years
PgDip Part-time - 2 years

Campus details

Campus name Town Postcode Region Main campus Campus Partner

Key information

School of Nursing and Midwifery
Telephone number: 
(0)28 9097 5735