Chartered Society of Designers (CSD)

Chartered Society of Designers

The Chartered Society of Designers (CSD), founded in 1930, is the world's largest chartered body of professional designers.

The society represents designers in all disciplines including exhibition design, fashion design, graphic design, interactive media design, interior design, product design, textile design, sensory design, and service design, with members in more than 30 countries.

CSD accreditation

The CSD accredits individuals, design teams and design courses at British institutions. Individual designers can apply to become members of the society and, if successful, can add MCSD to the end of their names, while fellows can use FCSD. The society is also considering the introduction of a pathway to becoming a Chartered Designer.

To become a full member (MCSD) of the society, candidates need to meet the requirements of the CSD's professional competence framework. Members can apply to become a fellow of the society.

Student and associate membership

For designers studying or at the early stages of their careers, the CSD has student and associate membership levels.

Student membership offers students a way of showing commitment to the design industry and a career in design and to potential employers and clients. Student members can use the phrase ‘A Student Member of the Chartered Society of Designers’ after their name in a professional context (and the CSD provides a letter for inclusion with a CV). Student membership costs £20 or £40 for three years.

For designers who have recently graduated, the CSD has an associate member level of membership (Assoc.CSD). Associate members can access professional services, publications from CSD’s online library, and regional networking groups. Associate members can also make use of Design Pool resources – a joint design and technology sector venture between the CSD, Institute of Engineering Designers and the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining.

CSD course endorsement programme

The society endorses courses it feels recognise the industry’s need for ‘professional standards, skills and levels of creativity’, offering quality assurance for employers.

Design courses are mapped against four core criteria (creativity, professionalism, skills and knowledge) and 16 competencies. Depending on the type and level of programme, the course is then either endorsed as accredited (bachelors, postgraduate certificates and diplomas, masters and doctorates), recognised (level 3–5 including BTEC and HND courses) or validated (continuing professional development-style courses delivered by training companies or through in-house training).

Current accredited courses include programmes offered by Nottingham Trent University, Plymouth University, the University of Derby and Sheffield Hallam University.

Students on CSD accredited and recognised courses do not have to pay for student CSD membership while studying.

A taste of the CSD's network

Keep up with the Chartered Society of Designers online on Twitter, network on LinkedIn, or watch the latest on YouTube.